Broccoli Cheese Soup

Where have I been?! I just recently fell in love with Broccoli Cheese soup, I know – right? I am a little picky about it, and really only like the kind from Panera. But, I have had an emulsion blender for ages now and have yet to make any soups, so that is my goal this winter! Soup!

Image

Tonight I decided to try my hand at one that seemed rather easy.. I looked at a bunch of different recipes, and decided to just combine them and make my own. Nothing really stood out to me, and the supposed Panera recipe sounded just weird, plus it didn’t call for a blender and I wanted to blend, dammit! Maybe next time..

Broccoli Cheese Soup

1 3/4 cups chicken broth
1 small onion, diced (I used half of a big one)
1/3 cup all-purpose flour
4 tablespoons salted butter
Salt & Pepper to taste
4 cloves garlic, minced
2 cups milk
2 1/2 cups shredded cheddar cheese
2 1/2 to 3 cups chopped, lightly steamed broccoli

To make things a little easier, I microwaved my broccoli. Don’t trip, it makes perfect broccoli actually, and you’re going to be blending it all up anyway. No need to lie and say I steamed and blanched it, because I didn’t. Cut the hard stems off, add to a microwavable bowl and add about 1/4 cup of water. Cover and microwave for 4min on high then set to the side.

To make things even easier, I decided to use my trusty Miniature Cuisinart for the garlic. It really is an amazing little thing to have around, especially for someone who doesn’t need a huge food processor. I probably could have left the cloves whole, since I was blending it all up anyway but I wanted to chop it up.

ImageImage

I started the onion and garlic on low heat with a little EVOO and let it do its thing. Dont be afraid to let your food cook without always messing with it, just make sure the heat is right so it wont burn.

In a soup pot I melted the butter and gradually added the flour, stirring the whole time, about 2min. As the butter was melting on medium heat, I microwaved the milk for 2min and then poured it into the butter flour mixture, whisking constantly, until it thickened – about 5 to 8min. Warm your chicken broth in the microwave and then it to the pot also, still whisking.

By now, your garlic and onions will be nicely browned and aromatic and you can add that to your pot as well.

Image

Image

Then comes the deliciousness, cheeeeessseeee! Turn the pot to low, and add all of the cheese at once. I used a whisk, but you can use whatever you want, to mix it all together until the cheese is completely melted and mixed in.. Before you add the broccoli, take a small spoon and taste your soup. You may want to add a little more salt or pepper, or whatever you want. Then add broccoli, and blend until the soup is to the consistency of your liking!

Image

Soupppppper easy! haha

I must share a secret with you before I sign off.. I am lactose intolerant. :O I know, and I decided to make mac n cheese, and cheese soup? I will share my wonder pill with you, only if you promise to USE it! It works, and you can really eat things with lactose! I carry some in my purse with me everywhere I go.

LACTAID

Make sure you get the pills, chewable or swallow ones. I take two if Im going to be eating a ton of lactose and I’ve never had an issue. Some people don’t like the pills, and just don’t eat lactose at all… but I couldn’t live without cheese, ice cream, and yogurt. Sowwie body.

One thought on “Broccoli Cheese Soup

  1. Pingback: Crockpot Korean Beef Shortribs | Weekday Dinner Mom

Leave a comment