Crockpot Korean Beef Shortribs

Another perfect meal in the crockpot!

How could anyone not love using a crockpot for things like ribs (when its not bbq season) and roasts? I love it, especially for days that I have so much going on and wont have time to make something really yummy later on.

I have always been obsessed with all kinds of asian foods, and my hubs is Filipino, so I decided to try and find some recipes I could make at home to get the same yummy stuff, without having to always go out to eat. I found this recipe for Korean Beef Tacos from a really cool blogger named Tina, and I fell in love. Not only did she post the recipe on my birthday last year, but it turned out AMAZING!! I mean, so amazing – and SO simple.

I have made this a couple of times, and have since changed the recipe to fit my family. I don’t make tacos, or the cucumber slaw.

 

Korean Beef:

4-5lbs Beef Shortribs (you can use back ribs if you want to save money)
2 cups soy sauce
1 2/3 cups packed brown sugar
15 cloves garlic, minced
6 tablespoons rice vinegar
2 tablespoons dark sesame oil
2 tablespoons hot chili oil
1 teaspoon pepper

PLEASE remember not to salt this dish, as the soy sauce is more than enough salt on its own.

Image

When I said this dish is easy, I meant it. You don’t even have to brown the meat or anything. Just rinse it, please. And remember that little food processor I showed you in the Broccoli Cheese Soup recipe? You can either smash the garlic, take the time to chop it up, or invest in a handy dandy little chopper and chop it up that way.

Image

 

After you’ve got the garlic chopped, ingredients measured, and meat rinsed, you can spray your crockpot lightly with cooking spray and put the meat in. Combine all of the wet and dry ingredients, including garlic, and add them to the pot. If your liquid doesn’t quite cover the ribs, add little water. They will create their own liquid as they cook.

Image

 

After you get it all in the bath, let it cook on low for around 8 hours, or on high for about 5 hours. Low and slow is always the way to go, though. hehe Totally didn’t mean to do that.

Anyway.. I always make my ribs with rice and veggies. And duh, I have an awesome rice cooker that the hubs got us! It really is a miracle maker in the kitchen. It makes PERFECT rice every time, and for just the 3 of us it makes more than enough.

One “serving” is about 2/3 of a cup and feeds 3 people very well, but you can make way more than that in this little thing. You put the rice in, we use Jasmine, and the correct amount of water, and let it cook. It automatically switches to “warming” once its done.

ImageImage

 

All in all, these ribs are amazing.. For anyone. Even picky eaters. They dont taste super tangy, or spicy, and they come out so freakin tender its crazy. You could totally do the taco thing if thats more appealing to you! I really suggest everyone tries these, they’re perfection.

 

Image

2 thoughts on “Crockpot Korean Beef Shortribs

Leave a Reply

