Cajun Crab & Shrimp Boil!

Old Bay

 

Mmmmm I adore “boils”! I am not really much of a seafood person, sushi and salmon are about as far as I go. The occasional parmesan crusted Sanddabs is cool with me, too. I am more of a red meat or chicken lady.

We have been in Hawaii the last week or so and, surprisingly, I didn’t eat much fish. When we got home I heard that one of my favorite Cajun restaurants in Orange County closed down! Ugh.. I hate losing a great, reliable, restaurant. With that news I figured I might as well just make my own cajun boil here at home, should be easy enough.

Crab Boil

Ingredients

1 large onion, halved
2lb shrimp, peeled and deveined
2lb Crab Legs, I used King Crab
10 small red potatoes, halved
1 package spicy sausage of your choice, chopped in 3’s
10 cloves of garlic, whole
5 tablespoons Old Bay Seasoning
3 Bay Leaves
2 tablespoons onion powder
Fresh cracked pepper and salt to taste
2 Lemons, halved

Shrimp

In the largest stock pot you have, fill it halfway with water. Add all seasoning and bay leaves, and bring to a rolling boil. Squeeze the lemons into the water, and add them to the pot – along with the potatoes, corn, onion, garlic, and sausage.

While that boils for about 10min, peel and devein your shrimpies and rinse Crab legs in cold water. Add legs to the pot, cover, and cook on a low boil for about 5 more min. Add shrimps last, and cook until they’re opaque (bright pink).

Pour all of the liquid out and serve on a table covered with plastic (if you wanna get really messy), or in a large bowl. Dont forget to give people melted butter, bibs, and exxxxtra napkins! Such an easy and flavorful meal! Pretty healthy, too, if you leave out the butter. Who really eats crab without butter though? lol

 

Leave a Reply

